Home > News Room > SMEIC News

Title 21st APEC SMEMM Held Successfully in Nanjing
File APEC_SMEMM.JPG (2,148 KBytes , 1915 downloads)
Name admin
Date 2014-09-29 04:28:26

The 21st APEC Small and Medium Enterprise Ministerial Meeting (APEC SMEMM) was held in Nanjing, China, on 5 September, 2014. Chaired by Miao Wei, Minister of Industry and Information Technology, the People's Republic of China, the meeting was attended by ministers and representatives from 21 APEC member economies under the theme of 'Innovation and Sustainability'.

The APEC Ministerial Statement is in congruent with the three sub-themes of Increasing Innovation Capacities of SMEs, Improving the Policy Environment for SMEs' Innovation and Promoting SMEs' Growth Through Innovation. The statement was endorsed during the meeting and will be presented to the APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting in November 2014 in Beijing.

Additionally, the Nanjing Declaration on Promoting SME Innovation Development was also adopted which aims to encourage the APEC member economies to take a range of measures to promote SME innovation on a voluntary basis.


Meanwhile, the 39th Small and Medium Enterprises Working Group (SMEWG) Meeting was held in Nanjing, the People's Republic of China, on 3-4 September 2014. The meeting was attended by representatives from Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, the Peoples Republic of China, Hong Kong, China, Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, the United States of America, and Viet Nam. Macao, China and Cambodia were represented as invited guests. Representatives from the APEC Business Advisory Council, the APEC IEG, the APEC EPWG, and UNISDR were present as guests. The meeting was chaired by Mr. Ted Tan, Deputy Chief Executive of SPRING Singapore and Acting Chair of the SMEWG (in place of Chair Dr. Wimonkan Kosumas).